Easy Rest Credible Sleep Resources

It’s not always easy to find reliable information on important topics.  We’ve done some of the work for you and in this section you’ll find links for Government Agencies and Non-Profits that provide information and support for medical issues, senior citizens, sleep research, pregnancy support and more.

Sleep Resources

Better Sleep Council – http://www.bettersleep.org

National Sleep Foundation – http://www.sleepfoundation.org

DHHS Healthfinder.gov – Get Better Sleep http://www.healthfinder.gov/HealthTopics/Category/everyday-healthy-living/mental-health-and-relationship/get-enough-sleep

Sleep Research Society – http://www.sleepresearchsociety.org

Center For Disease Prevention – Sleep Disorders http://www.cdc.gov/sleep/resources.htm

Health & Wellness

American Gastroenterological Association – http://www.gastro.org/practice/resource-library/hot-topics/gerdhttp://www.gastro.org/patient-center/digestive-conditions/heartburn-gerd

American Chiropractic Association – http://www.acatoday.org/level2_css.cfm?T1ID=13&T2ID=68

American Association of Neurological Surgeons http://www.aans.org/Patient%20Information/Conditions%20and%20Treatments/Low%20Back%20Pain.aspx

Medline Plus – Back Pain – http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/backpain.html

Snoring – http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/guide/snoring

Aging/Senior Care

National Council on Aging – http://www.ncoa.org

DHHS Administration on Aging – http://www.aoa.gov

Area Agencies on Aging – http://www.n4a.org

American Occupational Therapy Association Aging In Place – http://www.aota.org/Practitioners/PracticeAreas/EmergingAreas/PA/Home-Mod.aspx

Home Modifications Information – http://www.homemods.org/index.shtml

Funds for Senior Home Modifications – http://www.nahb.org/generic.aspx?genericContentID=89799

Fall Prevention – http://www.stopfalls.org

NIH Senior Health – http://nihseniorhealth.gov

FDA Senior Health http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ByAudience/ucm062130.htm

Caregiver Resources – http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Health/caregivers.shtml

Pregnancy/Bed Rest

American Pregnancy Association – http://americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/bedrest.html

National Institute of Health – http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/patientinstructions/000581.htm

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynocologists – http://www.acog.org/For_Patients

Pregnancy Week by Week – http://www.babycenter.com/pregnancy

Pregnancy & Back Pain – http://americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/backpain.html

Government Agencies – General Information

Veterans Affairs Administration – http://www.va.gov

US Department of Health & Human Services  Health Education –  http://www.hhs.gov/diseases/index.html

Food & Drug Administration Recommendation for Your Health – http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/ResourcesForYou/ucm079487.htm

Charities We Support

Yellow Ribbon Fund – http://www.yellowribbonfund.org

Make-A-Wish of the Mid-Atlantic – http://www.midatlantic.wish.org

Blogs We Recommend

Deployment Diatribes – http://deploymentdiatribes.wordpress.com

Macsmilitary.com  http://macsmilitary.com

Impact Interiors Group – http://www.impactinteriorsgroup.com/2012/11/01/a-good-nights-sleep-and-how-it-relates-to-senior-health/

This Ain’t Hell But I Can See It From Here – http://thisainthell.us/blog/?p=35075